A Crawl To Remember

Standard

Do you remember the days you crawled when you were a toddler?

Frankly, I don’t and I don’t believe anybody else can.

Yesterday, I got a chance to crawl that I can never forget. It happened at the Kailasanathar temple at my native, Kanchipuram. People who have visited this temple might understand the crawl I am talking about.

This temple looks similar to the Shore Temple at Mahabalipuram. It is maintained by the Archaeological Survey of India. The temple has undergone heavy restoration work due to damage of the rock sculptures.

Inside the temple where the main deity is located, you can go around the deity after worship. But, you need to crawl-in and crawl-out literally! The entrance to the passage is on a higher level. So, you climb the steps, crawl through the passage for few meters, get down on the other side and walk normally. The outside passage is on the ground level. So, you kneel down, get inside the passage and crawl for few meters to come out. Even though it was just few meters, I was thrilled. And so was my wife.

The temple is a photographer’s delight. I still remember the iconic photo of the temple with the giant rock bull in the history book in school.

It was dark when we came out of the sanctum sanctorum. I took few snaps on my mobile. I will visit this temple again with my DSLR when I go to my native next time.

And yes, I will crawl there again. 🙂

A restored sculpture at the temple

A restored sculpture at the temple

Store carvings outside the sanctum sanctorum

Store carvings outside the sanctum sanctorum

Stone carvings outside the sanctum sanctorum

Stone carvings outside the sanctum sanctorum

 

Related link:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kanchi_Kailasanathar_Temple

2 thoughts on “A Crawl To Remember

Leave a Reply

